Skip to content

John Culberson Honored by NASA with Distinguished Public Service Medal

October 25, 2019

Former U.S. Representative from Texas and current Clark Hill Member, John Culberson, was honored on October 25, 2019 by NASA with a Distinguished Public Service Medal. NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine presented the award to Culberson during a presentation at the 70th International Astronautical Congress in Washington. 

“I am deeply grateful to Administrator Bridenstine for this singular honor,” Culberson said. “I also want to thank my congressional colleagues for their steadfast support to help me significantly increase overall NASA funding, double Planetary Science funding, help ensure that it will be an American orbiter and lander that are the first to seek out life in the oceans of Europa, and help ensure that an American spacecraft will be the first interstellar mission to travel to the nearest Earthlike planet.”

Read more about the event and award here. 

Culberson is a Member in the Government and Public Affairs Practice Group. He draws on over 30 years of public service to provide advice and advocacy for clients on matters of legislation, regulation, and federal appropriations. He partners with individuals, organizations, and corporations to develop strategies to ensure their voices are heard by legislative and regulatory bodies at the state and federal level. Culberson is uniquely positioned to represent the policy interests of entities in many industries including aerospace, science, defense, homeland security, cyber security, law enforcement, education, energy, financial services, and health care. Prior to joining Clark Hill, Culberson served in the U.S. House of Representatives for nearly two decades, representing Texas’s 7th Congressional district. During his Congressional career, he served as a member of the House Appropriations Committee, where he chaired its Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies and its Subcommittee on Military Construction and Veterans Affairs. He also served as an active member of the Appropriations Subcommittees on Homeland Security and on Transportation, Housing, Urban Development, and Related Agencies.

Subscribe For The Latest